Tags

, ,

most-influential-blogger

So far I have shied away from these blog awards…why? Blogging has enriched me with the pleasurable company of many wonderful people, so I feel I should be the one awarding others for enriching me.

I have been given this award several times, but this is the first time I am compelled to acknowledge its receipt. Thank you Vic Briggs for considering me worthy of this award and a big Thank you to all who previously bestowed similar honor on me.

Writing has been a passion of mine from a tender age, and it gives me great joy to entertain people with it. The crowning glory for me is publication of my first book, Adaora, which is coming soon. I will release details about it in a short while.

most-influential-blogger1. Display the award on your blog.
2. Announce your win with a post and thank the blogger who awarded you.
3. Present 10 deserving bloggers with the Award.
4. Link your awardees in the post and let them know of their being awarded with a comment.
5. Answer each of the 11 questions that your awarder asked, and then write 11 for your awardees (or use the same ones up to you !)

1. If you could change one thing about our society, what would it be?

To be a lot more caring about others: young, old or disadvantaged; regardless of color, creed or sexual orientation. At the core of our existence, we are all human beings. We need find ways to justify our fellow-man, else we fall into the pit of dehumanizing someone sorely in need of our care and attention.

2. What do you turn to when in need of inspiration?

The universe, and all that is, is God to me. Therein lays my source of inspiration. Looking around, the suffering I see, inspires me to be a better person than I am. When I start complaining about my superficial worries, I soon catch myself. Simply because, life never fails to throw another revelation of true human suffering at me.

3. Name one person, alive or dead, who has influenced you most.

My mother. She is a true example of what I consider a perfect human being. Having many flaws, she finds hope in the darkest alleys, has reason to laugh particularly when there’s no logical reason for it: especially during times of adversity. Despite seeing the perpetuation so many wrongs around her, she finds a way within herself to absolve or justify the culprits, making it easy for them to find their way back home, when the occasion arises. In situations where chaos abounds or everything else seems to have fallen apart, My mother does her best to make sure that as a family, we never forget the fortune and gift of life and living.

In her words, “Many are alive, but life has long passed them by.” I draw strength from the woman and the mother that she is to me.

4. What newspaper, if any, do you read on a regular basis?

Any news I read is mainly online, especially the BBC and Al-Jezera.

5. Share one key insight that has helped you most in your writing.

I find insight and clarity in the things I know and love: people, places and food.

6. Are rules made to be broken?

Some are ๐Ÿ™‚

If we stand rigidly on rules, we are bound to fall in principle

7. What does democracy stand for as far as youโ€™re concerned?

It’s all an illusion…elements exist to subvert the natural order of democracy, law and order. The rules and regulations meant to regulate the power ofย  the president, preventing him from being power drunk, are the same used to cripple him; by elements supposedly meant to speak on behalf of the people, but in reality speak to the needs of a wealthy few. Democracy is what whoever wields power wants it to be.

8. Is freedom of speech an unalienable right?

I wish…

9. If we respect everyoneโ€™s opinion as valid, where does that leave hate speech?

Freedom of speech.

10. Do you think online media will replace print in the next few decades?

That would be wishful thinking, but i really pray it does not.

11. What is the main thing you want to achieve as a blogger?

I’m doing it right now…meeting and interacting with as many people as possible. This honestly is the most amazing experience of my life. The staggering amount of information and knowledge I have gained in the last year alone is unbelievable. I travel the world from the bird’s-eye view of my laptop and I love every minute of it, both good and bad.

My nominees:

Susan Irene Fox

Traces of the soul

The Mirror

Seyi Sandra David

Zany Zach’s

Helen Midgley

HarsH ReaLiTy

China Sojourns Photography

Su’eddie In Life N Literature

Gotta Find A Home

My questions for you:

1. If you could change one thing about our society, what would it be?

2. What do you turn to when in need of inspiration?

3. Name one person, alive or dead, who has influenced you most.

4. What newspaper, if any, do you read on a regular basis?

5. Share one key insight that has helped you most in your writing.

6. Are rules made to be broken?

7. What does democracy stand for as far as youโ€™re concerned?

8. Is freedom of speech an unalienable right?

9. If we respect everyoneโ€™s opinion as valid, where does that leave hate speech?

10. Do you think online media will replace print in the next few decades?

11. What is the main thing you want to achieve as a blogger?

